Answer ( 1 )



    India’s first-ever T20I was played on 1st December 2006. The opponents were none other than their fiercest rivals, Pakistan. The match was played at Delhi’s Feroz Shah Kotla ground. India lost the match by 5 wickets but the game started a new format of cricket in the country which would later go on to become very popular. The then captain of India, MS Dhoni, had led the team to victory in the inaugural World T20 in 2007. He is also the current captain of the IPL franchise Chennai Super Kings. Under his captaincy, CSK has won 3 IPL titles and 2 Champions League Twenty20 titles. Dhoni is considered one of the best captains in world cricket and has also been hailed as one of the greatest finishers in limited-overs cricket.

    India’s first T20I captain

    MS Dhoni is India’s first T20I captain. He was appointed to the role in 2007 and led the team to victory in the inaugural World Twenty20 in South Africa.

    Dhoni is a highly successful captain, with a record of leading India to victory in all three of the ICC limited-overs tournaments. He has also been successful in Test cricket, winning the Border-Gavaskar Trophy on two occasions.

    Under Dhoni’s captaincy, India has become one of the most formidable teams in world cricket. They are currently ranked No.1 in the ICC Test rankings and No.2 in the ODI rankings.

    Dhoni is widely respected for his calm and cool demeanor on the field, as well as his tactical acumen. He is also known for his promotion of young players and his willingness to take bold decisions.

    How India has fared in T20Is under different captains

    Since the inception of the Twenty20 format in 2006, India have played 115 T20Is. They have had 7 different captains at the helm in these 115 matches. Let’s take a look at how India have fared under each of these captains.

    Under MS Dhoni, India played the most T20Is (78), winning 42 and losing 34. Dhoni captained India in their first ever T20I match, against South Africa in 2006.

    Under Virat Kohli, India have played 31 T20Is so far, winning 22 and losing 8. Kohli captained India for the first time in a T20I match against Bangladesh in 2014.

    Under Rohit Sharma, India have played just 4 T20Is, winning 3 and losing 1. Sharma captained India for the first time in a T20I match against Zimbabwe in 2016.

    In total, under all 7 captains, India have won 70 T20Is and lost 77.

    Why the current captain is the best choice for India

    The current captain of India is the best choice for a number of reasons. Firstly, he has been with the team for a long time and knows the players well. Secondly, he is a very good leader and motivator, and has the ability to get the best out of his team-mates. Thirdly, he is a very experienced player, and has played in all three formats of the game. fourthly, He has a good record as captain, both in terms of results and winning percentage. fifthly, He is respected by both his fellow players and opponents alike. Sixthly, he always puts the team’s interests first, and is not afraid to make tough decisions.

    All these factors combine to make him the best possible choice as captain of India. He has the experience, the knowledge, the respect and the track record to lead India to success in all three formats of the game.

    The challenges the current captain faces

    The current captain of the Indian cricket team, Virat Kohli, faces many challenges as he tries to lead his team to victory in their first ever Test series. One of the biggest challenges he faces is the fact that the Indian team has never won a Test series against Australia. Another challenge is the form of some of his key players, with several members of the team struggling for form in recent months. Additionally, Kohli must deal with the pressure of expectation that comes with being captain of India, one of the world’s most prestigious cricket teams.

    The Indian cricket team has come a long way since their first T20I match in 2006. They have won several tournaments and are currently the number one ranked team in the world. However, their journey to the top was not always easy. In their first ever T20I match, they were up against a strong Pakistan side and lost by 9 wickets. But, India bounced back and went on to win many matches, including the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 in 2007.

Leave an answer