Answer ( 1 )



    Durga Puja is one of the most popular festivals in India. It is a ten-day Hindu festival that celebrates the victory of Goddess Durga over the evil demon Mahishasura. The festival starts on the sixth day of Navaratri and ends on Vijayadashami. Durga Puja is celebrated all over India, but it is especially popular in the states of West Bengal, Assam, Odisha, Bihar, Jharkhand, and Tripura. In West Bengal, the festival is also known as Akalbodhan (অকালবোধন), Sharadiya Pujo (শারদীয় পূজা), Sharodotsav (শারদোৎসব), or Maha Pujo (মহা পূজা). No matter what you call it, Durga Puja is a time for family, friends, and community. It’s a time to come together and celebrate our shared culture and traditions

    Durga Puja is a Hindu festival

    Durga Puja is a Hindu festival that celebrates the victory of good over evil. The festival is also known as Durgotsava or Maha Navratri and lasts for ten days. It is celebrated in the month of October or November, depending on the Lunar calendar.

    During the festival, Goddess Durga is worshipped in her various forms, including Mahakali, Mahalakshmi and Mahasaraswati. The tenth day, known as Vijayadashami, marks the end of the puja and is considered to be the most auspicious day.

    Durga Puja is celebrated all over India, but it is particularly popular in Bengal, Assam and Odisha. In West Bengal, the festival coincides with the Bengali New Year and is therefore an extra special occasion.

    On Vijayadashami, devotees take part in a procession called Shobhayatra, which culminates in the immersion of Goddess Durga’s idol in water. This signifies the return of Maa Durga to her heavenly abode after spending ten days on Earth with her children.

    The different incarnations of Durga

    Durga Puja, the biggest festival of the Bengalis, is just around the corner. The 10-day-long festivity commemorates the victory of Goddess Durga over the evil demon Mahishasura. Legend has it that Mahishasura was a mighty demon king who could shape-shift into any form. He terrorized the universe and the Gods appealed to Goddess Durga to put an end to his atrocities. After a fierce battle lasting nine days and nights, Mahishasura was finally killed by Goddess Durga.

    Goddess Durga is also known as Mahisasuramardini, which means “the one who kills Mahishasura”. She is usually depicted as a beautiful woman with ten arms, each carrying a weapon. Her most popular incarnation is that of Kali, also known as Shyama Kali. Kali is often depicted as a black or blue-skinned woman, naked or clad in tiger skin with a garland of human skulls around her neck. She is associated with death, destruction and violence. However, she is also considered to be a powerful goddess who can bestow boons on her devotees.

    Other popular incarnations of Goddess Durga include Chamunda (the fearsome form), Lakshmi (goddess of wealth), Saraswati (goddess of knowledge) and Gauri (the fair complexion). Each incarnation represents different aspects of the goddess and her powers.


    The mythology behind Durga Puja

    The Durga Puja is a festival that celebrates the victory of good over evil. The mythology behind this festival is based on the story of the battle between Lord Vishnu and demon king Ravana. Lord Vishnu took the form of a human named Rama, and with the help of Goddess Durga, was able to defeat Ravana.

    This victory is celebrated every year during the Durga Puja festival. On this day, people worship Goddess Durga and offer her puja (prayers). They also pray for their own well-being and for the prosperity of their families.

    How is Durga Puja celebrated?

    Durga Puja is celebrated over a span of ten days, with the main festivities taking place in the last five days. The first day is known as Mahalaya, which marks the start of the Durga Puja celebrations. On this day, Goddess Durga is invoked and worshipped. The following four days are known as Shashthi, Maha Saptami, Maha Ashtami and Mahanavami. These days are spent fasting, feasting and worshipping Goddess Durga. The tenth and final day is known as Vijayadashami or Dussehra, which is when the puja comes to an end.

    What are the benefits of celebrating Durga Puja?

    Durga Puja is one of the most popular festivals in India, celebrated by Hindus all over the country. The festival marks the victory of good over evil, as Goddess Durga defeats the demon Mahishasura.

    Durga Puja is also a time for family and friends to get together, and enjoy the festive atmosphere. For many, it is a time to catch up with old friends and make new ones.

    The celebrations typically last for five days and include puja (worship) ceremonies, as well as feasting and merrymaking. On the sixth day, Durga is worshipped in her form as Maha Kali, and on the seventh day, she is worshipped in her form as Saraswati.

    One of the main attractions of Durga Puja is the huge pandals (temporary structures) that are set up to house the Goddess’s statue. These pandals are often lavishly decorated, and attract huge crowds of devotees and curious onlookers alike.

    Durga Puja is one of the most popular festivals in India, and it’s only a few days away. This year, Durga Puja falls on October 19th, so make sure you’re prepared! Whether you’re looking for the perfect outfit or just need to stock up on supplies, we’ve got you covered. Check out our comprehensive guide to Durga Puja and get everything you need to know about this amazing festival.

Leave an answer